ICT60220 – Advanced Diploma of Information Technology (Cyber Security)

This qualification provides the skills and knowledge for an individual to plan, design, manage and monitor an enterprise information and communications technology (ICT) network as an independent ICT specialist or as part of a team responsible for advanced ICT network security systems. The qualification has a high-level ICT technical base with appropriate security units and the ability to specialise in a number of areas, including voice, wireless, network infrastructure and sustainability.

In this course students will learn the fundamentals of firewalls and router/switch technology, the planning and implementation processes of troubleshooting, and assists students develop their skills to secure and configure enterprise-level devices and communication networks to improve overall business security.

Qualification Code ICT60220
CRICOS Code 106632J
Qualification Name Advanced Diploma of Information Technology
Duration 52 weeks full-time
Course Cost $14,500
Delivery Site City Campus – Level 11, 190 Queen Street, Melbourne, 3000
Delivery Mode Face to face classroom delivery

Who can enrol

Target group for this program will be the international students over the age of 18, including mature aged clients who have developed skills and knowledge by completing ICT Diploma level qualification or work experience and want to upskill their knowledge and skills.

Entry Requirements

Applicants must be minimum 18 years of age at the time of commencement
Australian Year 12 completion or equivalent
Minimum IELTS score of 6 or equivalent
All course applicants are required to meet course relevant Digital, Language, Literacy and Numeracy capabilities prior to commencing the courses. If the applicants are unable to demonstrate LLN capabilities through valid credentials of an equivalent or higher qualification, NTCA will assess their LLN capabilities through a LLN assessment
Physical Resources requirement:
Applicants must bring their own compatible devices to facilitate the training and assessment activities.

Pathways from the qualification

After achieving this qualification, individuals could progress to Vocational Graduate Certificate qualifications or other higher education sector qualifications within the ICT area.

Employment Pathways from the qualification

Job roles and titles vary across different industry sectors. Possible job titles relevant to this qualification include:
Possible job title includes:
Cyber security administrator
Network security analyst
Network security specialist
E-security specialist
ICT security specialist
IT security administrator
IT security analyst
IT security specialist

Course Structure

To attain this qualification, 16 units must be achieved, consisting of:

  • 6 core units and
  • 10 elective units of which:
Core Units
Unit Code Unit Description
BSBXCS402 Promote workplace cyber security awareness and best practices
BSBCRT611 Apply Critical Thinking for Complex Problem Solving
ICTSAD609 Plan and monitor business analysis activities in an ICT Environment
BSBTWK502 Manage team effectiveness
ICTICT608 Interact with clients on a business level
ICTICT618 Manage IP, ethics and privacy in ICT environments
Elective Units
Unit Code Unit Description
ICTCYS604 Implement best practices for identity management
ICTCYS606 Evaluate an organisation’s compliance with cyber security standards and law
ICTICT613 Manage the use of development methodologies
ICTCYS608 Perform cyber security risk assessments
ICTPMG617 Plan and direct complex ICT projects
ICTCYS612 Design and implement virtualised cyber security infrastructure for organisations
ICTSUS603 Integrate sustainability in ICT planning and design projects
BSBSTR601 Manage innovation and continuous improvement
ICTICT615 Implement Knowledge management Strategies
ICTICT617 Lead the evaluation and implementation of current industry specific technologies

Placement Requirements



Assessment will usually commence in the session following delivery. As this is a competency-based program, assessment continues throughout the program until the participant either achieves competency in the assessment tasks or a further training need is identified and addressed. Students will be required to perform in a range of assessment tasks including and not limited to:

  • Written Assignment
  • Demonstration
  • Role Play
  • Project
  • Case study

Course Credit (CT / RPL)

Credit transfer is a process that provides students with agreed and consistent credit outcomes for components of a qualification based on identified equivalence in content and learning outcomes between matched qualifications.

The recognition of prior learning (RPL) pathway is appropriate for candidates who have previously attained skills and knowledge from outside the formal education and training system and which includes work and life experience.

Students may apply for RPL or Credit transfers for any unit in which they can successfully demonstrate competency.


NTCA gave me the essential, practical information without wasting my time with irrelevant content. As well, the enrolment process was easy and convenient. It took a couple of weeks to discipline myself to put the time in this challenging course but assignment feedback was very fast and any questions I had along the way were answered within the day. Check them out – there are lots of courses to choose from at NTCA. I am very glad I did.

– Andrea Silva,