Diploma of Hospitality Management

This qualification reflects the role of individuals who use sound knowledge of industry operations and a broad range of managerial skills to coordinate hospitality operations. They operate independently, have responsibility for others and make a range of operational business decisions.

Diploma of Hospitality course provides the skills and knowledge for an individual to be competent in the middle
management level as a Manager, Supervisor or Team Leader in any hospitality area.

Qualification Code SIT50422
CRICOS Code 114024M
Qualification Name Diploma of Hospitality Management
Duration 104 weeks Full time
Course Cost $23500
Delivery Site Level 11, 190 Queen Street, Melbourne, 3000 and
NTCA Kitchen Campus (Details to be provided at campus)
Delivery Mode Face to face classroom delivery

Who can enrol

Target group for this program will be International students over the age of 18 who wish to enter the hospitality industry
the hospitality industry at the middle management level. It is recommended for the students to complete the Certificate IV qualification within SIT Training Package before entering to this qualification.

Entry Requirements

Applicants must be minimum 18 years of age at the time of commencement
Australian Year 12 completion or equivalent
Minimum IELTS score of 6 or equivalent
All course applicants are required to meet course relevant Digital, Language, Literacy and Numeracy capabilities prior to commencing the courses. If the applicants are unable to demonstrate LLN capabilities through valid credentials of an equivalent or higher qualification, NTCA will assess their LLN capabilities through a LLN assessment
Physical Resources requirement:
Applicants must bring their own compatible devices to facilitate the training and assessment activities.

Pathways from the qualification

After achieving Diploma of Hospitality Management, individuals could progress to Advance diploma of Hospitality Management or higher education qualifications in management.

Employment Pathways from the qualification

This qualification provides a pathway to work in any sector of the hospitality industry as a departmental or small business manager.
Possible job title includes:
Chef De Cuisine
Kitchen Manager
Restaurant Manager
Sous Chef

Course Structure

To attain this qualification, 28 units must be achieved, consisting of 11 core units and and 17 elective units.

Core Units
Unit Code Unit Description
SITXCOM010 Manage conflict.
SITXWHS007 Implement and monitor work health and safety practices.
SITXHRM009 Lead and manage people.
SITXMGT004 Monitor work operations.
SITXHRM008 Roster staff
SITXFIN009 Manage finances within a budget.
SITXFIN010 Prepare and monitor budgets
SITXCCS015 Enhance customer service experience
SITXCCS016 Develop and manage quality customer service practices
SITXGLC002 Identify and manage legal risks and comply with law
SITXMGT005 Establish and conduct business relationships
Elective Units
Unit Code Unit Description
SITXFSA005 Use hygienic practices for food safety
SITXFSA006 Participate in safe food handling practices
SITXFSA008 Develop and implement a food safety program
SITXWHS006 Identify hazards, assess and control safety risks
SITHCCC043 Work effectively as a cook
SITHCCC027 Prepare dishes using basic methods of cookery
SITHCCC028 Prepare appetisers and salads
SITHASC024 Prepare Asian salads
SITHCCC030 Prepare vegetable, fruit, eggs and farinaceous dishes
SITHCCC029 Prepare stocks, sauces and soups
SITHCCC035 Prepare poultry dishes
SITHCCC037 Prepare seafood dishes
SITHKOP015 Design and cost menus
SITHCCC036 Prepare meat dishes
SITHPAT016 Produce desserts
SITHCCC041 Produce cakes, pastries and breads
SITHKOP010 Plan and Cost Recipes

Placement Requirements

Each student is required to work in an operational commercial kitchen of an industry workplace as per allocated hours.
*Please refer to training and assessment strategy.


Assessment will usually commence in the session following delivery. As this is a competency-based program, assessment
continues throughout the program until the participant either achieved competency in the assessment tasks or a further training need is identified and addressed. Students will be required to perform in a range of assessment tasks. The assessments may take the form of:

  • Written Quiz (A)
  • Written Question (B)
  • Assignment (C)
  • Project (D)
  • Case Study (E)
  • Observation / Demonstration (F)
  • Logbook – Service Log, Supervisor Report & Assessor Observation (G)

Course Credit (CT / RPL)

Credit transfer is a process that provides students with agreed and consistent credit outcomes for components of a
qualification based on identified equivalence in content and learning outcomes between matched qualifications.

The recognition of prior learning (RPL) pathway is appropriate for candidates who have previously attained skills and
knowledge from outside the formal education and training system and which includes work and life experience.

Students may apply for RPL or Credit transfers for any unit in which they can successfully demonstrate competency


“The hospitality course in NTCA has given me the confidence to progress my cooking skills, and to learn more about techniques, food, presentation and best practices in a kitchen environment. The trainers have been extremely supportive throughout, they are very knowledgeable and patient.”

– Maile Aroldo, Student