SIT40521 Certificate IV in Kitchen Management

This qualification reflects the role of commercial cooks who have a supervisory or team leading role in the kitchen. They operate independently or with limited guidance from others and use discretion to solve non-routine problems. This qualification provides a pathway to work in organisations such as restaurants, hotels, clubs, pubs, cafes and coffee shops, or to run a small business in these sectors.

Qualification Code SIT40521
CRICOS Code 109714E
Qualification Name Certificate IV in Kitchen Management
Duration 98 weeks full-time
Course Cost $22500
Delivery Site City Campus – Level 11, 190 Queen Street, Melbourne, 3000
Delivery Mode Face to face classroom delivery

Who can enrol

International students over the age of 18 who wish to enter the hospitality industry as a chef. It is recommended for the students to complete the Certificate III in Commercial cookery qualification before entering to this qualification.

Entry Requirements

Applicants must be minimum 18 years of age at the time of commencement
Australian Year 12 completion or equivalent
Minimum IELTS score of 6 or equivalent
All course applicants are required to meet course relevant Digital, Language, Literacy and Numeracy capabilities prior to commencing the courses. If the applicants are unable to demonstrate LLN capabilities through valid credentials of an equivalent or higher qualification, NTCA will assess their LLN capabilities through a LLN assessment
Physical Resources requirement:
Applicants must bring their own compatible devices to facilitate the training and assessment activities.

Pathways from the qualification

After achieving SIT40521 – Certificate IV in Kitchen Management, individuals could progress to Diploma of Hospitality qualification.

Employment Pathways from the qualification

This qualification provides a pathway to work in various kitchen settings, such as restaurants, hotels, clubs, pubs, cafes, cafeterias and coffee shops.
Possible job title includes:
Chef De Partie

Course Structure

To attain the SIT40521 Certificate IV in Kitchen Management, 33 units must be completed, consisting of 26 Core units and 7 elective units.

Core Units
Unit Code Unit Description
SITHCCC023 Use food preparation equipment
SITHCCC027 Prepare dishes using basic methods of cookery
SITHCCC028 Prepare appetisers and salads
SITHCCC029 Prepare stocks, sauces and soups
SITHCCC030 Prepare vegetable, fruit, eggs and farinaceous dishes
SITHCCC031 Prepare vegetarian and vegan dishes
SITHCCC035 Prepare poultry dishes
SITHCCC036 Prepare meat dishes
SITHCCC037 Prepare seafood dishes
SITHCCC041 Produce cakes, pastries and breads
SITHCCC042 Prepare food to meet special dietary requirements
SITHCCC043 Work effectively as a cook
SITHKOP010 Plan and Cost Recipes
SITHKOP012 Develop recipes for special dietary requirements
SITHKOP013 Plan cooking operations
SITHKOP015 Design and cost menus
SITHPAT016 Produce desserts
SITXCOM010 Manage conflict
SITXFIN009 Manage finances within a budget
SITXFSA005 Use hygienic practices for food safety
SITXFSA006 Participate in safe food handling practices
SITXFSA008 Develop and implement a food safety program
SITXHRM008 Roster staff 
SITXHRM009 Lead and manage people
SITXINV006 Receive, store and maintain stock
SITXMGT004 Monitor work operations
SITXWHS007 Implement and monitor work health and safety practices
Elective Units
Unit Code Unit Description
SITHASC023 Prepare Asian sauces, dips and accompaniments
SITHCCC026 Package prepared foodstuffs
SITXFSA007 Transport and store food
SITXCOM007 Show social and cultural sensitivity
SITXWHS006 Identify hazards, assess and control safety risks
SITHASC024 Prepare Asian salads

Placement Requirements

Each student is required to work in an operational commercial kitchen of an industry workplace as per allocated hours. *Please refer to training and assessment strategy.


Assessment will usually commence in the session following delivery. As this is a competency-based program, assessment continues throughout the program until the participant either achieved competency in the assessment tasks or a further training need is identified and addressed. Students will be required to perform in a range of assessment tasks. The assessments may take the form of:

  • Written Quiz (A)
  • Written Question (B)
  • Assignment (C)
  • Project (D)
  • Case Study (E)
  • Observation / Demonstration (F)
  • Logbook – Service Log, Supervisor Report & Assessor Observation (G)

Course Credit (CT / RPL)

Credit transfer is a process that provides students with agreed and consistent credit outcomes for components of a qualification based on identified equivalence in content and learning outcomes between matched qualifications.

The recognition of prior learning (RPL) pathway is appropriate for candidates who have previously attained skills and knowledge from outside the formal education and training system and which includes work and life experience.

Students may apply for RPL or Credit transfers for any unit in which they can successfully demonstrate competency.


“Studying at NTCA has been the best decision of my life. I love working in the restaurant, and NTCA’s Hospitality course is perfect for me. It has given me so many opportunities I wouldn’t have had anywhere else. I couldn’t have asked for anything better to set up my career in hospitality and catering. I can’t wait to continue learning and progress my career at the same time.”

– Gursimran Singh,