ICT60220 – Advanced Diploma of Information Technology (Telecommunications Network Engineering)

This qualification reflects the role of individuals in a variety of information and communications technology (ICT) roles who have significant experience in specialist technical skills, or managerial business and people management skills.

It applies to individuals with a range of networking skills and extensive knowledge of core and access network capabilities of the service provider. It prepares individuals for entry into planning and design for network additions and implementations to accommodate network growth and technologies in the industry, forecast network growth for enterprise network planning, design and manage IP based network telecommunications equipment, implement convergence technologies in enterprise telecommunications networks, design and manage optical and wireless network telecommunications architectures for high-speed broadband capability.

Qualification Code ICT60220
CRICOS Code 106632J
Qualification Name Advanced Diploma of Information Technology (Telecommunications Network Engineering)
Duration Course duration may vary depending upon selection of courses (packaged or individual)
Course Cost $19,000
Delivery Site City Campus- Level 11, 190 Queen Street, Melbourne, 3000
Delivery Mode Face to face classroom delivery

Who can enrol

Target group for this program will be the international students over the age of 18, including mature aged clients who have developed skills and knowledge by completing ICT Diploma level qualification or work experience and want to upskill their knowledge and skills.

Entry Requirements

Applicants must be minimum 18 years of age at the time of commencement
Australian Year 12 completion or equivalent
Minimum IELTS score of 6 or equivalent
All course applicants are required to meet course relevant Digital, Language, Literacy and Numeracy capabilities prior to commencing the courses. If the applicants are unable to demonstrate LLN capabilities through valid credentials of an equivalent or higher qualification, NTCA will assess their LLN capabilities through a LLN assessment
Physical Resources requirement:
Applicants must bring their own compatible devices to facilitate the training and assessment activities.

Pathways from the qualification

After achieving this qualification, individuals could progress to Vocational Graduate Certificate qualifications or other higher education sector qualifications within the ICT area.

Employment Pathways from the qualification

Job roles and titles vary across different industry sectors. Possible job titles relevant to this qualification include:
Possible job title includes:
Cyber security administrator
Network security analyst
Network security specialist
E-security specialist
ICT security specialist
IT security administrator
IT security analyst
IT security specialist
Field Engineer
Network Planner
Technical Officer

Course Structure

To attain this qualification, 16 units must be achieved, consisting of:

  • 6 core units and
  • 10 elective units of which:
Core Units
Unit Code Unit Description
BSBXCS402 Promote workplace cyber security awareness and best practices
BSBCRT611 Apply Critical Thinking for Complex Problem Solving
ICTSAD609 Plan and monitor business analysis activities in an ICT environment
BSBTWK502 Manage team effectiveness
ICTICT608 Interact with clients on a business level
ICTICT618 Manage IP, ethics and privacy in ICT environments
Elective Units
Unit Code Unit Description
ICTNPL413 Evaluate networking regulations and legislation for the telecommunications industry
ICTNWK612 Plan and manage troubleshooting advanced integrated IP networks
ICTPMG613 Manage ICT project planning
ICTTEN615 Manage network traffic
ICTTEN622 Produce ICT network architecture designs
ICTSUS603 Integrate sustainability in ICT planning and design projects
BSBLDR523 Lead and manage effective workplace relationships
ICTNWK546 Manage network security
ICTNWK560 Determine best-fit topologies for wide area networks
ICTNWK561 Design enterprise wireless local area networks

Placement Requirements



Assessment will usually commence in the session following delivery. As this is a competency-based program, assessment continues throughout the program until the participant either achieves competency in the assessment tasks or a further training need is identified and addressed. Students will be required to perform in a range of assessment tasks including and not limited to:

  • Written Assignment
  • Demonstration
  • Role Play
  • Project
  • Case study

Course Credit (CT / RPL)

Credit transfer is a process that provides students with agreed and consistent credit outcomes for components of a qualification based on identified equivalence in content and learning outcomes between matched qualifications.

The recognition of prior learning (RPL) pathway is appropriate for candidates who have previously attained skills and knowledge from outside the formal education and training system and which includes work and life experience.

Students may apply for RPL or Credit transfers for any unit in which they can successfully demonstrate competency.


NTCA gave me the essential, practical information without wasting my time with irrelevant content. As well, the enrolment process was easy and convenient. It took a couple of weeks to discipline myself to put the time in this challenging course but assignment feedback was very fast and any questions I had along the way were answered within the day. Check them out – there are lots of courses to choose from at NTCA. I am very glad I did.

– Andrea Silva,